Aggressive KiwiSaver fund

Kōura Bitcoin Fund

Kōura KiwiSaver Scheme On Cam's implementation panel

Kōura Bitcoin Fund is an aggressive fund in the Kōura KiwiSaver Scheme. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 7 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.10%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

3-year return
25.9%a year after fees, before tax, Morningstar, as at 30 June 2026. No 5 or 10-year figure available
Risk indicator
7 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.10%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$14.4 million4,262 investors

Source: Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, the three months to 30 June 2026, published 30 July 2026. Morningstar files it under Miscellaneous. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

What the provider says

The Fund will invest in underlying Funds that will invest directly in Bitcoin.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 23 May 2022.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
Other99%99.11%
Cash and cash equivalents1%0.89%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
Fidelity Wise Origin Bitcoin FundOtherUS59.65%
BNZ USD AccountCash and cash equivalentsNZ0.24%
BNZ NZD AccountCash and cash equivalentsNZ0.65%
IShares Bitcoin TrustOtherUS39.46%

Together 100.0% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists4
The ten largest, together100.0%
Largest single holdingFidelity Wise Origin Bitcoin Fund, 59.6% of the fund

60% of this fund is in one holding. A holding can itself be a fund or an ETF that holds many investments, and the register does not show what is inside it, so read the provider's Product Disclosure Statement for what sits underneath.

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.10%
Manager's basic fee0.85%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.25%
Contribution fee0.00%
Withdrawal fee0.00%

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update, shown against the market index it chose. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fundMarket index
Past year-42.55%-41.68%
Average a year, since the fund started18.77%22.33%
Year by year, to 31 March
YearThis fundMarket index
12 months to 31 March 2026-19.79%-17.78%
12 months to 31 March 202519.31%24.62%
12 months to 31 March 2024147.06%155.16%

A return says what happened and not what will.

Market index: Nasdaq Bitcoin Reference Price (converted to NZD)

Returns reported by Morningstar

Morningstar annualised returns
PeriodThis fund
10 yearsNot reported
5 yearsNot reported
3 years25.9%

Annualised returns a year as at 30 June 2026, from the Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, published 30 July 2026. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. Morningstar publishes category averages for its five multi-sector categories only, so there is none to show for this fund. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

The Morningstar report does not show a 4 or 5 Globe Sustainability Rating for this fund. It may have fewer globes or none, and the report does not say which.

Morningstar's Sustainability Rating is its own measure of how a fund's holdings score on environmental, social and governance factors compared with similar funds. It says nothing about returns.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio100.00%
Debt ratio0.73%
Provider last updated this fund3 August 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 6 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Kōura KiwiSaver Scheme →

Other funds in the Kōura KiwiSaver Scheme

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.