Balanced KiwiSaver fund

Generate Australasian Fund

Generate KiwiSaver Scheme On Cam's implementation panel

Generate Australasian Fund is a balanced fund in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 4 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.19%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

Morningstar return
Not yetMorningstar 3 year+ returns are not available for this younger fund
Risk indicator
4 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.19%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$7.0 million379 investors

Morningstar lists this fund but does not yet report a return for it, because it has too short a record. The provider's own disclosed returns are further down this page.

What the provider says

The Australasian Fund aims to provide a higher return over the long term. It invests in an actively managed portfolio of growth assets located predominantly in New Zealand and Australia with a very minor allocation of income assets. Volatility is likely to be medium to high. Returns will vary and may be low or negative at times.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 30 April 2025.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
Australasian equities88.2%80.30%
Listed property9.8%15.56%
Cash and cash equivalents2%3.19%
Unlisted property0%0.95%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

How it is managed

Management style: Active. The manager chooses investments, or shifts the mix, to try to do better than the market. This describes how the fund is run, not whether one style is better.

It invests in an actively managed portfolio

From the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme PDS, 30 April 2025 (opens in a new tab), read on 31 October 2026.

Passive vs active KiwiSaver funds: what the difference means for you →

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
Fisher & Paykel Healthcare LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ10.64%
Contact Energy LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ5.97%
Goodman GroupListed propertyAU4.62%
Spark LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ2.77%
Meridian Energy LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ3.43%
Chorus LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ3.02%
Infratil LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ10.20%
Auckland International Airport LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ5.34%
A2 Milk LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ2.74%
Commonwealth Bank of AustraliaAustralasian equitiesAU2.81%

Together 51.5% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists55
The ten largest, together51.5%
Largest single holdingFisher & Paykel Healthcare Ltd, 10.6% of the fund

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.19%
Manager's basic fee1.16%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.03%
Contribution feeNot stated
Withdrawal feeNot stated

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fund
Past year5.56%

Returns reported by Morningstar

Morningstar 3 year+ returns are not available for this younger fund.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio99.70%
Debt ratio0.10%
Provider last updated this fund4 August 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 31 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme →

Other funds in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.