Growth KiwiSaver fund

Generate Growth Fund

Generate KiwiSaver Scheme On Cam's implementation panel

Generate Growth Fund is a growth fund in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 4 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.25%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

10-year return
9.5%a year after fees, before tax, Morningstar, as at 30 June 2026
Risk indicator
4 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.25%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$2.33 billion52,978 investors

Source: Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, the three months to 30 June 2026, published 30 July 2026. Morningstar files it under Growth. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

What the provider says

The Growth Fund aims to provide a high return over the medium to long term. It invests in an actively managed portfolio made up largely of growth assets with a small allocation to income assets. Volatility is likely to be medium to high. Returns will vary and may be low or negative at times.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 16 April 2013.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
International equities50%51.29%
Australasian equities27%24.26%
New Zealand fixed interest9.75%11.34%
Cash and cash equivalents5%5.11%
Listed property3%4.39%
International fixed interest5.25%3.34%
Unlisted property0%0.27%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
Te Ahumairangi Global Equity FundInternational equitiesNZ3.47%
Fisher & Paykel Healthcare LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ3.00%
NvidiaInternational equitiesUS3.09%
Amazon.Com IncInternational equitiesUS2.69%
Infratil LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ3.55%
Contact Energy LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ1.68%
Microsoft CorpInternational equitiesUS2.51%
Alphabet Inc Class AInternational equitiesUS2.38%
Apple IncInternational equitiesUS1.99%
ASB NZ Dollar Cash AccountCash and cash equivalentsNZ3.98%

Together 28.3% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists772
The ten largest, together28.3%
Largest single holdingASB NZ Dollar Cash Account, 4.0% of the fund

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.25%
Manager's basic fee1.16%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.09%
Contribution feeNot stated
Withdrawal feeNot stated

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update, shown against the market index it chose. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fundMarket index
Past year13.61%14.51%
Average a year, 5 years6.74%7.31%
Average a year, since the fund started8.77%9.80%
Year by year, to 31 March
YearThis fundMarket index
12 months to 31 March 20267.18%9.46%
12 months to 31 March 20254.56%6.10%
12 months to 31 March 202419.42%15.15%
12 months to 31 March 2023-3.06%-1.95%
12 months to 31 March 20220.82%2.86%
12 months to 31 March 202125.71%28.43%
12 months to 31 March 2020-1.27%-1.16%
12 months to 31 March 20199.38%11.82%
12 months to 31 March 201810.75%11.56%
12 months to 31 March 20175.83%10.39%

A return says what happened and not what will.

Market index: The market index is described in the Statement of Investment Policy and Objectives (SIPO)

Returns reported by Morningstar

Morningstar annualised returns
PeriodThis fundGrowth category average
10 years9.5%8.9%
5 years7.3%6.4%
3 years13.0%11.5%

Annualised returns a year as at 30 June 2026, from the Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, published 30 July 2026. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. The category average is Morningstar's average for the Growth funds in the report. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

Earned a 4 or 5 Globe Sustainability Rating (Morningstar).

Morningstar's Sustainability Rating is its own measure of how a fund's holdings score on environmental, social and governance factors compared with similar funds. It says nothing about returns.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio96.42%
Debt ratio0.40%
Provider last updated this fund4 August 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 4 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme →

Other funds in the Generate KiwiSaver Scheme

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.