Conservative KiwiSaver fund

Hive Aurora First Home Buyer Strategy

Hive KiwiSaver Scheme

Hive Aurora First Home Buyer Strategy is a conservative fund in the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 3 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.04%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

Morningstar return
NoneMorningstar does not report a return for this fund
Risk indicator
3 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.04%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$83.3 million2,722 investors

This fund is not in the Morningstar report, so there is no Morningstar return to show. The provider's own disclosed returns are further down this page.

What the provider says

Aims to provide stable investment returns for members looking to withdraw for a first home within 1-3years. Mainly invests in defensive assets and a small proportion of growth assets.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 21 August 2023.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
Cash and cash equivalents36.25%43.33%
International fixed interest22.50%20.06%
New Zealand fixed interest22.50%19.83%
International equities12.75%11.07%
Australasian equities6.00%3.58%
OtherNot stated2.13%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

How it is managed

Management style: Active. The manager chooses investments, or shifts the mix, to try to do better than the market. This describes how the fund is run, not whether one style is better.

Actively managed.

In Cam Steele's words, 31 October 2026. The provider's published documents do not set this out in these terms, so it rests on Cam's own knowledge of the scheme.

Passive vs active KiwiSaver funds: what the difference means for you →

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
PCG Diversified New Zealand Private Debt FundNew Zealand fixed interestNZ2.56%
Munro Global Growth Climate Leaders PIE FundInternational equitiesNZ2.25%
Mercer Macquarie NZ Cash FundCash and cash equivalentsNZ41.90%
Metlife Global Impact Bond Fund - Class AInternational fixed interestAU20.06%
Brandywine Global Opportunistic Equity FundInternational equitiesNZ3.26%
Pella Global Generations PIE FundInternational equitiesNZ3.05%
Merricks Capital Partners PIE FundOtherNZ2.46%
Mercer Macquarie NZ Fixed Interest PIENew Zealand fixed interestNZ17.28%
Resolution Capital GLI PIE FundInternational equitiesNZ2.51%
Octagon Trans Tasman FundAustralasian equitiesNZ1.82%

Together 97.2% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists16
The ten largest, together97.2%
Largest single holdingMercer Macquarie NZ Cash Fund, 41.9% of the fund

42% of this fund is in one holding. A holding can itself be a fund or an ETF that holds many investments, and the register does not show what is inside it, so read the provider's Product Disclosure Statement for what sits underneath.

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.04%
Manager's basic fee0.77%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.27%
Contribution feeNot stated
Withdrawal feeNot stated

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fund
Past year3.76%
Average a year, since the fund started4.24%
Year by year, to 31 March
YearThis fund
12 months to 31 March 20263.20%
12 months to 31 March 20253.78%

A return says what happened and not what will.

Returns reported by Morningstar

This fund is not in the Morningstar report, so there are no Morningstar returns to show. The provider's own disclosed returns are above.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio97.54%
Debt ratio0.41%
Provider last updated this fund30 July 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 31 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme →

Other funds in the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.