KiwiSaver scheme

Hive KiwiSaver Scheme: funds, fees and returns

Run by Hive Funds Limited

The Hive KiwiSaver Scheme is a KiwiSaver scheme run by Hive Funds Limited. It has 10 open funds on the Disclose Register, in the defensive, conservative, balanced, growth and aggressive categories, with annual fund charges of 0.40% to 1.60%. This page explains each fund using what the provider has disclosed, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

Open funds
10Listed on the Disclose Register
Annual fund charge
0.40% to 1.60%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Risk indicators
2 to 5 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Combined fund size
$602.6 millionAcross the open funds listed here

Every open fund in the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme

Funds are listed from lowest to highest risk category, then by name. That is an order of risk, not of merit. A fund's own page is linked where Cam has built one.

Open funds in the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme
FundCategoryRisk indicatorAnnual fund chargeFund sizeMorningstar return
Hive Aurora Liquidity FundDefensive2 of 70.40%$45.1 million4.2% (3-year)
Aurora First Home Buyer StrategyConservative3 of 71.04%$83.3 millionNone reported
Hive Aurora Conservative FundConservative3 of 71.25%$117.0 million5.4% (3-year)
Hive Harbour Balanced FundBalanced4 of 71.40%Not statedNone reported
Hive Aurora Growth FundGrowth5 of 71.50%$357.2 million9.5% (3-year)
Hive Harbour Growth FundGrowth4 of 71.50%Not statedNone reported
Hive Munro Global Growth Climate Leaders FundGrowth5 of 71.60%Not statedNone reported
Hive PIE Growth FundGrowth5 of 71.50%Not statedNone reported
Hive Aurora Aggressive FundAggressive5 of 71.60%Not statedNone reported
Hive PIE Aggressive FundAggressive5 of 71.60%Not statedNone reported

Source: the Disclose Register, read on 4 October 2026. Morningstar returns are annualised, after fees and before tax, from the Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, the three months to 30 June 2026, published 30 July 2026. The risk indicator is the provider's own, on a scale of 1 to 7. Past performance does not guarantee future returns. A fund the Morningstar report does not cover, or covers with under three years of history, has no figure here.

How spread out are the funds?

Each fund page and the directory show how many holdings a fund lists and how much sits in its largest. In this scheme, Hive Aurora Liquidity Fund, Aurora First Home Buyer Strategy and Hive Aurora Conservative Fund have 25% or more of the fund in a single holding. A fund that invests through another fund lists it as one holding, so a small count is not a fault. The risk indicator measures how much a fund's value has moved, not how concentrated it is.

Where the Hive KiwiSaver Scheme sits in Cam's advice

This scheme is not on Cam's implementation panel. Cam still reviews and compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider New Zealand market, and a recommendation may be to stay with your existing provider, whether or not it is on the panel. See the KiwiSaver provider comparison for the ten schemes he can implement a change through.

Where this comes from

Scheme and fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 4 October 2026. The scheme was registered on 1 July 2021. Returns are from the same Morningstar report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how a scheme applies to you. Take the KiwiSaver Health Check if you want a first look.

← All KiwiSaver providers · Search every fund in the directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.