Balanced KiwiSaver fund

Pathfinder KiwiSaver Balanced Fund

Pathfinder KiwiSaver Plan On Cam's implementation panel

Pathfinder KiwiSaver Balanced Fund is a balanced fund in the Pathfinder KiwiSaver Plan. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 4 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.30%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

5-year return
6.1%a year after fees, before tax, Morningstar, as at 30 June 2026. No 10-year figure available
Risk indicator
4 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.30%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$156.3 million3,176 investors

Source: Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, the three months to 30 June 2026, published 30 July 2026. Morningstar files it under Balanced. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

What the provider says

An ethical portfolio with a balance between growth assets and income assets. This Fund’s value is likely to fluctuate more than the Conservative Fund but less than the Growth Fund.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 23 July 2019.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
International equities32%38.89%
International fixed interest22%19.85%
New Zealand fixed interest17%17.08%
Australasian equities13%11.61%
Cash and cash equivalents10%8.10%
Other3%2.39%
Listed property3%2.08%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
Cash at Bank - NZD - ANZCash and cash equivalentsNZ4.76%
Microsoft CorporationInternational equitiesUS1.83%
NVIDIA CorpInternational equitiesUS2.17%
New Zealand Government Bond 15/05/2054New Zealand fixed interestNZ1.34%
Fisher & Paykel Healthcare LtdAustralasian equitiesNZ1.14%
Cash at Bank - NZD - WestpacCash and cash equivalentsNZ2.49%
Apple IncInternational equitiesUS1.93%
Alphabet Inc Class AInternational equitiesUS1.54%
New Zealand Local Government Funding Agency Ltd. 15/04/2037New Zealand fixed interestNZ1.12%
European Investment Bank 14/02/2033International fixed interestLU1.02%

Together 19.3% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists454
The ten largest, together19.3%
Largest single holdingCash at Bank - NZD - ANZ, 4.8% of the fund

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.30%
Manager's basic fee1.10%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.20%
Contribution fee0.00%
Withdrawal fee0.00%

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update, shown against the market index it chose. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fundMarket index
Past year9.55%13.53%
Average a year, 5 years5.49%6.57%
Average a year, since the fund started7.23%8.04%
Year by year, to 31 March
YearThis fundMarket index
12 months to 31 March 20266.72%9.76%
12 months to 31 March 20252.81%6.75%
12 months to 31 March 202411.79%12.71%
12 months to 31 March 2023-1.85%-1.43%
12 months to 31 March 20224.97%4.51%
12 months to 31 March 202121.62%25.20%

A return says what happened and not what will.

Market index: The market index changed from 1 May 2026 from the Morningstar® New Zealand Target Allocation Index: Balanced Multisector for New Zealand (100% of non-NZD Fixed Interest hedged to NZD) to the Morningstar® New Zealand Balanced Target Allocation Plus (100% of non-NZD Fixed Interest, and 50% of international equities hedged to NZD) for a more aligned currency hedging policy on international equities. The benchmark index is on a net return (‘NR’) basis, that is, including dividends and net of withholding tax for relevant equity classes. Historical index returns are used to calculate market index performance prior to 1 May 2026, and current market index returns are used since then

Returns reported by Morningstar

Morningstar annualised returns
PeriodThis fundBalanced category average
10 yearsNot reported7.2%
5 years6.1%5.7%
3 years9.3%10.5%

Annualised returns a year as at 30 June 2026, from the Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, published 30 July 2026. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. The category average is Morningstar's average for the Balanced funds in the report. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

The Morningstar report does not show a 4 or 5 Globe Sustainability Rating for this fund. It may have fewer globes or none, and the report does not say which.

Morningstar's Sustainability Rating is its own measure of how a fund's holdings score on environmental, social and governance factors compared with similar funds. It says nothing about returns.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio97.84%
Debt ratio0.12%
Provider last updated this fund5 August 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 4 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Pathfinder KiwiSaver Plan →

Other funds in the Pathfinder KiwiSaver Plan

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.