Aggressive KiwiSaver fund

Booster Geared Growth Fund

Booster KiwiSaver Scheme On Cam's implementation panel

Booster Geared Growth Fund is an aggressive fund in the Booster KiwiSaver Scheme. Its provider discloses a risk indicator of 5 out of 7 and an annual fund charge of 1.41%. This page sets out what the provider has disclosed on the Disclose Register, with the Morningstar return where there is one. It is general information, not a recommendation to join or switch.

10-year return
12.1%a year after fees, before tax, Morningstar, as at 30 June 2026
Risk indicator
5 of 7Disclosed by the provider
Annual fund charge
1.41%Total, as a share of the amount invested
Fund size
$807.9 million17,368 investors

Source: Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, the three months to 30 June 2026, published 30 July 2026. Morningstar files it under Aggressive. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

What the provider says

The Geared Growth Fund is suited to investors who seek higher returns, including increased potential returns via leverage, on average over extended periods (fifteen years plus), allowing for more significant short to medium term ups and downs. We aim to achieve this by investing predominantly in growth assets, with little or no allocation to income assets, and the use of leverage to provide increased exposure.

The fund's own description, as disclosed on the Disclose Register. Fund start date: 15 July 2009.

What the fund invests in

Asset mix
Asset classTargetActual
International equities57%61.43%
Australasian equities32%29.39%
Cash and cash equivalents1%3.77%
Listed property5%3.31%
Unlisted property5%2.04%
New Zealand fixed interestNot stated0.04%
International fixed interestNot stated0.02%

Actual allocation as at 30 June 2026. Asset classes held at 0% are left out.

Largest investments

The ten largest investments
InvestmentTypeCountryShare of fund
Fisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation LimitedAustralasian equitiesNZ4.31%
Apple IncInternational equitiesUS2.76%
Amazon.Com IncInternational equitiesUS1.53%
NVIDIA CorpInternational equitiesUS3.03%
Auckland International Airport LimitedAustralasian equitiesNZ2.66%
Microsoft CorporationInternational equitiesUS1.78%
Infratil LimitedAustralasian equitiesNZ2.89%
Contact Energy LimitedAustralasian equitiesNZ1.76%
USD CASHCash and cash equivalentsUS1.48%
Alphabet Inc (Class C)International equitiesUS1.42%

Together 23.6% of the fund. The rest is spread across other holdings.

How spread out is it?

Spread of the fund's holdings
MeasureDisclosed
Holdings the provider lists2,482
The ten largest, together23.6%
Largest single holdingFisher & Paykel Healthcare Corporation Limited, 4.3% of the fund

The risk indicator measures how much a fund's returns have moved, not how many investments it holds, so it cannot show concentration on its own. Two funds that hold the same index can carry different indicators. Shares are as the provider disclosed them, and a total above 100% is the provider's own figure.

Fees and charges

Fees disclosed by the provider
ChargeDisclosed
Total annual fund charge1.41%
Manager's basic fee1.36%
Performance-based fees0.00%
Other management charges0.04%
Contribution fee0.00%
Withdrawal fee0.00%

Charges as a share of the amount invested. A blank on the register is shown as not stated. How an adviser is paid is separate, and is set out in our disclosure statement.

Returns the provider has disclosed

These are the provider's own figures from its fund update, shown against the market index it chose. They are the register's "net" returns, which are after the fund's charges and after tax, so they will not match the Morningstar figures in the headline and in the next section, which are after charges and before tax. Read each on its own terms.

Provider-disclosed returns
PeriodThis fundMarket index
Past year18.31%19.58%
Average a year, 5 years7.10%9.00%
Average a year, since the fund started11.04%10.98%
Year by year, to 31 March
YearThis fundMarket index
12 months to 31 March 202610.85%14.20%
12 months to 31 March 20253.01%6.48%
12 months to 31 March 202420.53%17.37%
12 months to 31 March 2023-7.23%-3.31%
12 months to 31 March 20225.40%6.16%
12 months to 31 March 202146.38%35.88%
12 months to 31 March 2020-7.45%-6.31%
12 months to 31 March 201910.51%11.91%
12 months to 31 March 201810.23%9.44%
12 months to 31 March 201714.56%13.30%

A return says what happened and not what will.

Market index: The market index return is based on the weighted average return of the market indices used in respect of the underlying asset classes as described in the Statement of Investment Policy and Objectives.

Returns reported by Morningstar

Morningstar annualised returns
PeriodThis fundAggressive category average
10 years12.1%10.3%
5 years8.2%8.4%
3 years15.0%14.5%

Annualised returns a year as at 30 June 2026, from the Morningstar KiwiSaver Survey, published 30 July 2026. Returns are annualised: each figure is a return per year, averaged across the period shown. Figures are net of the fund's annual charges and before your own tax. KiwiSaver is taxed at your prescribed investor rate, so two people in the same fund keep different amounts, and fixed dollar member fees are not reflected in a percentage. The category average is Morningstar's average for the Aggressive funds in the report. Past performance does not guarantee future returns.

Earned a 4 or 5 Globe Sustainability Rating (Morningstar).

Morningstar's Sustainability Rating is its own measure of how a fund's holdings score on environmental, social and governance factors compared with similar funds. It says nothing about returns.

See the full Morningstar returns comparison → (opens in a new tab)

Other details

Other disclosed details
ItemDisclosed
Asset liquidity ratio96.21%
Debt ratio10.38%
Provider last updated this fund3 August 2026
Reporting period ended30 June 2026

Where this comes from

Fund details are from the Disclose Register (opens in a new tab), read on 6 October 2026. The Morningstar return is from the same report as the Morningstar returns comparison. Read the provider's current Product Disclosure Statement before you decide.

Cam compares KiwiSaver providers and funds across the wider NZ market, and a fund appearing here, or on his implementation panel, is not a recommendation. Whether a fund suits you depends on your goals, timeframe and comfort with risk. How Solid Steele is paid depends on the provider and is set out in the disclosure statement. A free KiwiSaver session is the way to see how it applies to you.

See every open fund in the Booster KiwiSaver Scheme →

Other funds in the Booster KiwiSaver Scheme

← Back to the KiwiSaver fund directory

Ready when you are

Let’s get more from your KiwiSaver

Book a free, no-obligation session with Cam - online anywhere in New Zealand, or in person across Canterbury.